The Lebanese Internet Governance Forum (LIGF), as the only active national IGF in the Arab region, proudly acknowledges the remarkable contributions of both past and current members of the Lebanese Multistakeholder Advisory Group (LMAG). These dedicated individuals play a crucial role in spotlighting and addressing the critical challenges and opportunities within Lebanon’s digital space, including the Internet. The LIGF stands out as a unique platform, uniting the Lebanese stakeholders under one roof to foster meaningful dialogue and collaboration on digital governance.

In line with our commitment to UN IGF principles and to inclusive participation, the LIGF refreshed the LMAG membership for the 2024 cycle. This process, governed by our Terms of Reference, prioritises a rotational membership system to ensure fresh perspectives and dynamic representation. Detailed insights into our selection criteria and operational tenets are accessible at IGF Lebanon Legal documents

We are delighted to announce the new LMAG composition, comprising 20 distinguished individuals chosen through a selection process. This renewal underscores our adherence to gender equity and diverse stakeholder engagement, featuring representatives from government, the private sector, academia, technical and intergovernmental organisations, and civil society.

The 2024 LMAG Membership roster includes:

- Government: Col. Nader Abdallah and Col. Marc Sawan (Internal Security), Manal Shihab (TRA), Capt. Malak Charaf (General Security), Zeina Bou Harb (OGERO / LIGF Secretary General)

- Technical Community and Private Sector: Hassan Dhaini (TOUCH), Rudy Shoushany (DTGN), Tanya Zaroubi (ISACA) Jack Bakaev (ISOC), Chafic Chaya (RIPE NCC), Talal Assaf (Alfa)

- Intergovernmental Organizations: Mirna Barbar (UNESCWA), Georges Awad (UNESCO)

- Civil Society: Roula Mikhael (Maharat), Abed Kataya (SMEX), Charbel Chbeir (BBA), Jessy Tannous (Digital World Program), Amin Hacha (Lebanese Cyberspace Association), Jessica Zakhour (Tripoli Bar)

- Academia: Fawzi Baroud (NDU), Suzan Elhorr (AUB), Marc Ibrahim (USJ)

In an expression of unanimous confidence and recognition of his substantial contributions, Dr Chafic Chaya has been appointed as the chair of the LMAG for 2024.

Through this collective effort, the LIGF not only fosters the enhancement of the Internet, its governing policies and its services within Lebanon but also ensures that the recommendations and outputs have an impact by sharing them with decision-makers at both national and international levels. This engagement positions Lebanon on the global Internet governance scene, reaffirming Lebanon’s leading position in shaping a resilient and progressive digital future.

For further information and to get acquainted with the new LMAG members, please visit our members' page: click here.


Beirut, 26 April 2024